Turbo issues (i think)

bigmac1

Visit site
Hi all, newbie here, can you help please?
I have a 26 ft motorboat, ford sabre 212 hp with turbo, when i bought it it was going well but now it is very smokey, when i run under load at 2000 revs (6 knots) all is ok but if i go up to 2500revs then she starts to throw out black smoke (really bad), if i go up to 3000 revs she seems to clear herself, i can hear the turbo coming in at 300revs , i have had a full oil change + filters also new diesel filters, injectors have been checked and ok , i can turn the turbo with my finger when she is stopped (but i dont know how free it should be)?,
I dont know if it has a wastegate , if any one can tell me if it should have one please let me know, there is a slight play in and out on the impeller but i dont know what is acceptable, suggestions please, if i have replace or repair turbo where can i get this done??
Thanks in advance

Sticky Fingers

Visit site
Black smoke suggests too much fuel, or not enough air. I’d have thought maybe wrongly that prop / hull fouling would affect the engine at all revs. That doesn’t seem to be the case, so some potential mechanical issue may be the cause. What we do not know is what has changed between purchase and now. If it was working properly then, but not now despite the works, would suggest perhaps that one element of the work that was done may be the cause. So, was the work done first? Or the problem appeared and the works done to try and fix it?

Nito

Visit site