Testing Battery drain

z1ppy

Visit site
Morning All,

looking for some advise from the technical collective....

How can you test the drain on a battery or batteries (when connected together) on a boat?

We have 2 batteries on board with a 1 / 2 / both / off / isolation. I suspect there is a significant draw on the batteries either when isolated or when running...

I am not technically minded so need to try and understand how to measure the draw, i assume that if we start with everything off then switch things on we can find out where the draw comes from and thus what is flattening the batteries?

From there we can also establish what power is being returned to the battery via the alternator....

any help greatly appreciated as i am scratching my head here.. (please try and be as simple as possible as i am dumb!)

maby

Visit site
First you need to distinguish between an unwanted current drain in the equipment of the boat and one or both batteries having failed. If you can isolate them as you suggest, then get them well charged either via shore power or by running the engine, then promptly isolate them and leave them disconnected for several days. Healthy batteries should not lose much charge over a significant period, so when you reconnect them you should still have plenty of power to run lights and instruments. Does the boat have a volt meter fitted? If not, you need to get a cheap multimeter - Maplins will sell you something perfectly useable for under a tenner - and check the voltage at the battery posts. A battery on charge will have a voltage of over 14v as it approaches full charge. When you disconnect the charge (turn off shore power or stop the engine), this will quickly drop to about 13.5v and then drift down to about 12.8 or thereabouts. If the battery is isolated and in good condition, it should be able to hold a voltage around 12.5v for many days, if not weeks.