Specs of coax cables for SAT dome & GSM phones

MapisM

Visit site
As per subject - Is there anyone who can advise on the best types of coax cables to use in these two applications?
Ta!

PS: by "GSM phones", I mean the cable to connect an external aerial to a GSM phone - which is actually a GSM/UMTS router, if that matters.

vandy

Visit site
Being an electrical engineer I can give you the following advice:

1. For any device which is ONLY receiving singnals (i.e. a Sat TV, Radar, etc. etc.) the 75ohm Coax Cable is OK. YES THE RADAR! The Coax cable connecting your dome to the actual devcie is in fact JUST receiving the signal from the dome! so normal 75ohm cables are ok for that.

2. If the device is sending AND receiving a singnal (i.e. a VHF radio) and ONLY IF the length of the cable is going to be too high (more than 2 meters) then you better use a 50ohm so the singnal sent can be ampilified by the antenna WITHOUT noise! The ohmic losses simply cause the signal sent at nominal frequency (the frequency you want it to be sent) get weaker so other noise singnals may then be modulated as well....quite a complicated communication subject really!

For GSM phone, most coax cables are capable of 0 to 6GHz freq so as long as you use a low impedance cable (50ohm) you should be OK.

BUT what you must be careful is your antenna. The GSM antenna is different than normal atennas and those used for a VHF radio etc. as the frequency which is to be received/sent is different.

You may also consider installing an amplifier for the SAT dome.

Last edited:

MapisM

Visit site
If the device is sending AND receiving a singnal (i.e. a VHF radio) and ONLY IF the length of the cable is going to be too high (more than 2 meters) then you better use a 50ohm so the singnal sent can be ampilified by the antenna WITHOUT noise!
Interesting stuff, thanks. Yep, length is well above 2m (from pilothouse to flybridge arch).