possible battery charger problem

kashurst

Visit site
I have a Mastervolt MASS 12/60 battery charger. It has a LED dispIay indicating when its charging, floating etc. All appears to be OK but.....
I'm not 100% convinced its working properly. I usually leave the boat with the charger on while I am away possibly for 3 -4 months at a time. I have done this on all my previous boats no problem. Last autumn came back to the boat to find the 2 year old engine start batteries, knackered and very low on acid. Could just be bad luck/poor batteries that came with the boat or maybe the charger has cooked them. Replaced the batteries and when I went home, turned off the charger and isolated the new batteries. Back at boat this week, turned everything on batteries all perfect, turned charger back on.

Watching the volt meter today as I was doing a few jobs, I noticed the battery voltage varies from @ 13.4V (ish) up to as high as 14.5V. I have checked the volt meter and it reads correct. The 14.5 V seems too high to me. Is this normal with this make of charger or other makes of charger? or is something amiss?

A_8

Visit site
It should go up to 14.5 or even 14.8 but as soon as the battery is fully charged it should go down to 13.2 ish. If it does not this will indeed break your batteries.

Lon nan Gruagach

Visit site
I have a Mastervolt MASS 12/60 battery charger. It has a LED dispIay indicating when its charging, floating etc. All appears to be OK but.....