Planning first passage. Brightlingsea to Walton Backwater

Khaos

Visit site
Hi all,

I'm currently planning my first real passage, from Brightlingsea to Walton Backwater, in my Achilles 24. I'll be doing it at some point over the next couple of weeks once the weather clears up and I've sorted a few things out. I have some sailing experience experience from moving about the Blackwater estuary. The longest sail I've done so far was from West Mersea to Brightlingsea so this will be much further and my first time in open sea.

I have the East Coast Pilot and will memorise the important bits prior to departure. Once there I'm planning on anchoring. I think I'll anchor at stone point upon arriving and then explore further the following day. I gather there is a nice selection of anchorages to choose from.

I'm planning on arriving at rising tide so that I don't need to be so fearful of running around. It's not such a big problem where I am due to the mud. I've done it a few times up and down the Colne, but no prospect of damage from the mud and it makes for a nice 10 min break to refuel. In sand obviously it's potentially worse. One slight problem is my depth sounder isn't working. Hence my strong preference for rising tide upon arrival which means I'll need to time it right.

What do you think? Is it a viable plan? Anything important that I've missed or any general tips for sailing in the area?

Thanks 👍

Last edited:

Poecheng

Visit site
Few thoughts:
Nice or reasonable day with enough wind to power you along and the tide in the right direction (to sweep you up) and it will be lovely. Think about going when you can also get the tides back the other way.
Download the map for getting into the Walton Backwaters as you need to keep to the route and part gets twisty (but not difficult).