Newbie - sterndrives or amateur root canal treatment?

Colvic Watson

Visit site
We’ve been searching for the right boat and we’re down to three. One has Volvo sterndrives with duoprops.

I’m a shaft-drive kind of guy but the boat is gorgeous and has a complete annual maintenance schedule. The thing is, I’ve heard sterndrives can be so problematic that I’m wondering if ownership is like opting for root canal treatment by an amateur with no pain relief.

We’re boating veterans but absolute newbie’s to motorboats so don’t assume we know anything! And thank you, best forum there is.

Momac

Visit site
I've had sterndrives since 2008. The first boat single engined and owned 6 years and I added 600 engine hours. The present boat since 2014 and I have added almost 1000 engine hours. The present boat is now 21 years old.
Certainly sterndrives need to be serviced. They need to have their oil changed , rubber bellows changed and anodes replaced.
For me , so far, the sterndrives have not thrown up any expensive surprises.

I have met folks with shaft drive boats that have had drive plate and gearbox issues. One boat had the bellhousing break and it almost sank. There is no drive system that is immune from risk of faults.

But if you have a fear of sterndrives as some other people on this forum certainly do I suggest you look elsewhere for a boat with shaft drives.

DavidJ

home in Brum. S37 sold, was in Med Spain.
Visit site
No question shafts are simpler. However after owning stern drive boats for 45 years I would say choose the boat you like and go with whatever it has. As @Momac says regular servicing is important and you will have the occasional water ingress problem which means a seal change but not overly expensive.
In my view don’t compromise on the boat you want because of the drive.

Greg2

Visit site