New to motorboating with a family

Floatrin

Visit site
Hi all, I am new to the boating scene. I have a wife and three kids and want to get into it more. Last year we purchased a two-person inflatable kayak, and we really enjoyed it, apart from the fact that we couldn’t all go out together, and it gets tiring after a while, and you cant go very far in it. I just want to use it in allowable lakes and rivers with the family.

Here are some criteria:
- A boat with a motor (no sailing).
- A boat with a sun cover (nice to have but not essential).
- Big enough for short day/half day trips out (with enough space to have a seat during rides and to carry a few bags and picnics.
- Something I can put away in the winter (I guess the lends itself to being something inflatable, but I also have a garage if it wasn’t inflatable). I am open to rigid boats too, but I guess then I need to consider water storage and out of water storage.
- I have a 7-seater car (but currently no tow bar, but that could be arranged).

Does anyone have any suggestions on suitable options, or even if there is more that I need to consider. Another key consideration is budget, but I don’t want to think too much about that at this point, would just like to see what options are out there. I am expecting it to be in the order of thousands of pounds of course (it’s not the cheapest hobby out there for sure), I will consider new and used options.

Thanks all!

oldgit

Visit site
Something to consider.
First things first.
Your proposed boat will need to be able to be used on impulse, without it being a major operation of logistics to get afloat everytime.
What age are skipper and crew ?
A boat for a young Mum n Dad with three little uns is not the same as for a mature :) couple with reluctant sprawling louts.
Where do you live , half an hour away from useable water or a three motorway three hour marathon.