New Owner: in or out during next winter?

watson1959

Visit site
Assuming I survive my first season as an owner and that I avoid sinking both my own and others' boats, there appear to be two main options open to me come the winter:-

1. Leave her in the water
2. Take her out (see....I'm quick to learn!)

So....

1. In: If I decide to leave her in the water (with the possibility of being a grown-up and going out on cold frosty days etc), what are the winterising precautions that I should take without exposing myself to unneccessary costs?

2. Out: Is the annual cost of winterisation substantial? I have no experience of engines but am happy to turn my hand to the basics so long as I have a Haynes Manual or equiv (or friendly neighbour who can advise/help).

I realise some will be dependent upon the engine size (FNM 200Hp) but general advice/views are much appreciated.

Thanks
Simon

oldgit

Visit site
Keep it in

There is no technical reason why your boat cannot remain in the water all year round and the bonus of just popping along on a nice bright winter day and mebbee just popping out of the marina for an hour can break up the long tedious gap over the winter months.So much better than wandering along and finding the poor old thing sitting forlornly on the hard when an early spring day catches you out.Like this year.

boatone

www.tmba.org.uk
Do a search on this Forum for WINTERISING and it throws up over 350 posts on this topic over recent years.
Read them all carefully and then listen to Uncle Tone (aka M*ch**l W*nn*r) when I say "Calm Down, It's only a boat, my dear"