Knots for a modified jorda series drogue

stav

Visit site
Hi, happy new year! Used to be here quite a lot but haven't forvrious middle ge man reasons but it I get to be posting a question! I m having a go t making a drouge as below.

Series Drogue

I have nearly made the 20 cones and went to add them to the 200' feet of secondhand 18mm brid on braid. However I would like to add a hard eye at each end. I have tried cleaning the rope, soakinh4i hot water etc but I don't think I can splice it. So was after suggestions for knots o make an eye then whip in place a stainless steel thimble. Hope that makes sense?

Any suggestion for good knots etc to make the eye. No 8ntention of undoing them and could addsome stitching?

Thanks for any ideas?

Aeolus

Visit site
I'm not an expert on Jordan Series Drogues but I did read a lot about them a while back. I'm not sure that the modified version described in the OP's link will work in the conditions that Jordan designed his drogue for. The rationale for having 100 plus cones on a very long length of rope was so that the drogue would grip over multiple wave lengths, thus providing a continuous braking effect rather than an intermittent effect with associated snatching. Reducing the number of cones (albeit larger ones) and shortening the rope may make it less effective in the storm conditions that Jordan had in mind. I would be very wary of modifying a design that was conceived and tested over many years and that has been successfully used in extreme conditions.

PlankWalker

Visit site
A knot was the downfall of Suzy Goodall's series drogue, leading to the loss of her Rustler in the Southern Ocean.
I have no knots in my series drogue, just Brummel splices and stainless thimbles.
Things have moved on since Don Jordan's day, We have Dyneema now.

Aeolus

Visit site