How long does it take to ....

Jimmy_James

Visit site
Hello -

I'm new to cruising but am planning on talking a year out to sail round the Med. I've got my eye on a 26 foot Catamaran for the trip -

Can you advise me how long it takes to sail from South East Uk, over to France, Spain, Portugal and onto Minorca or Ibiza ?

I reckoned if we sailed nearly every day it would take around 5 weeks ? Does this sound about correct if setting off early in the year. How many days a week does one normally sail before it gets boring and you need a couple of days in harbour ?
Thanks
James

<hr width=100% size=1>

tcm

Visit site
the trip you envisage is almost 2,000 miles. So, if you loaded up and just thrashed along you might do it only three weeks. But, of course the idea is to plonk around and investigate things on the way, not zoom past.

There again, it is chcuking it down here amd prob in northern france, spain is a bit oily, portugal is a bit 3rd world, so you could be in Majorca for this time next month!

<hr width=100% size=1>

ccscott49

Visit site
Whats the average speed your cat can manage, in all weathers? What is the weather going to be? What is your experience? Do you want to hammer on or stop and smell the roses? How much money do you have for diesel, when theres no wind? Get a big chart, an atlas will do and a pair of dividers, now measure the distances involved, (quite large) now you will have an idea, why it's impossible to say. You will need more than a year to sail around the med, it's 500 miles, from gib to Ibiza!

<hr width=100% size=1>

davidbains

Visit site
In "89 I "daysailed" from Brighton to Gib in 21 days.
We then pottered to Almerimar in about another two weeks.
I would say you could daysail to the balearics in 5 or 6 weeks
if you avoid many days off for shore trips and R&R.
You'll have to spend about 3 nights at sea between Brest and
say Bayonna. And the occasional overnighter down the Portuguese coast.