Hempel Silic One prop kit??

srm

Visit site
I am well aware that the best way to keep a prop clean is to polish it then use it, and to keep on using it. Unfortunately, I have not been able to use my boat so the prop is growing barnacles.

Has anyone got first hand experience they are willing to share (as opposed to armchair expertise) of the Hemple Silic One prop kit?

Thanks.

johnalison

Visit site
It didn't stick to my prop in spite of as much care as I could give when applying the primer. I've had more luck with Trilux, though that was only 75% successful. It may depend on the actual metal used.

Reactions: srm
Visit site
Hi there SRM,

I'm fairly new to this and bought an otherwise lovely boat with a rotten prop. So, in Spring 2022, wishing to look after my fabulously expensive new bronze whisk, I invested in a SilicOne kit.

After application (see below) I then popped the boat in the water in the middle of what was, according to reports on here, a vintage year for hull gardens.

The boat was in the River Blackwater for about 6 months and when I pulled it out again:
  • Anything not anti-fouled (i.e. my bootstripe) had huge amounts of weed.
  • My freshly anti-fouled hull had developed a nice 2mm+ coating of organic slime.
  • The prop came out looking like I'd just painted it.
So on the basis of not much boating experience, but having used SilicOne for all of it, the stuff worked brilliantly.

It is not for the fainthearted however. Etching primer, followed by an intermediate tie coat topped off with a thick silicone layer - and the thinners are absolutely evil. I thought my big garage with the doors and windows open would be well ventilated enough, but they weren't. Only use this stuff outside, preferably wearing a gas mask.

jmnapier

Visit site
I’ve used silic one and I’ve used Propspeed. I preferred the PS. More successful in that it hasn’t come off and it was actually easier to apply

superheat6k

Visit site
Silic One on hull - great.