Gas regulators

chrishewett

Visit site
Another user of this forum assures me that he has a regulator which fits both the 4.5kg Calor butane cylinder and the Camping gaz cylinders. I have one of each in front of me as I type and they are quite obviously incompatable, calor being left hand outside thread and camping gaz inside righthand thread and different sizes. Although I have been selling bottled gas for 15 years, I have not ever sold it to the boating community and so am quite happy to admit that I may be wrong and such a useful universal fitting does indeed exist, though I fail to see how.
Does anyone else have one of these and if so where can I get one?

<hr width=100% size=1>

Sybarite

Visit site
I would have thought that the manufacturers would actively avoid doing this in order to keep a captive clientele.

If something has been cobbled up I would be afraid for safety reasons.

John

<hr width=100% size=1>

snowleopard

Visit site
maybe...

i can see how it would be done: bulkhead regulator, wall block manifold including non-return valves, two tails, one with each type of connector. i've been thinking of doing something similar for cruising in europe.

<hr width=100% size=1>

DerrickHigton

Visit site
I have a simple adaptor, with a stop valve, which screws on to Camping Gaz bottle but has a Calor Gas thread on the outlet. I bought it about twenty years ago for a few pounds. Try a camping shop.

<hr width=100% size=1>

chrishewett

Visit site