Filtering fuel

mick

Visit site
After dire warnings about dirty diesel I have started filtering fuel as it goes into the tank. I only ever use cans for filling as I don't use much fuel. I have two funnels: one is awkward to handle but has a very fine mesh filter, the other is easy to use but has a much coarser filter. I would much prefer to use the latter. Just how fine does the filter have to be to ensure that only clean fuel goes in?
Thanks in advance.

<hr width=100% size=1>

DepSol

Visit site
try a pair of tights over the funnel, stops splashes and filters dirt,

<hr width=100% size=1>Dom

<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.soltron.co.uk>the website</A>

paulrossall

Visit site
I am no expert but work very hard to ensure I do not get problems at sea that I can avoid. I use a very fine mesh filter. If I were in your situation I would buy another filter with a very fine mesh that is easier to use. Cost less that £10 I would guess. It will be interesting to see what others say.
Paul

<hr width=100% size=1>

MedMan

teall.name
What fixed filters do you have in your system? Youe engine will be fitted with a fine filter, but do you also have a coarse filter/water separation unit? If not, fitting one should be your number one priority before worrying about filtering the fuel as you pour it in.

Assuming you have two in line filters, I feel that a funnel with a reasonably fine mesh is adequate and I wouldn't worry about trying to use tights or muslin or anything of that ilk. To say which of your two funnels would fit that bill without seeing them is a bit difficult - how fine is fine? If you are unsure I would buy a new one that fulfills all your criteria - it can only be a tiny price to pay for peace of mind.

<hr width=100% size=1><A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.geocities.com/yachtretreat/>http://www.geocities.com/yachtretreat/</A>

g_s_millington

Visit site