Dehumidifier draining

Coxsimon

Visit site
I appreciate it’s been covered, and I’ve read many threads already, but I’m a newbie looking for some certainty!
I’ve got a 30yrold 32footer, in a marina and thinking of getting a dehumidifier (plus some 80w bar heaters) and letting it drain into the heads or galley sink and keeping that seacock open. I have no through hull above the waterline.
I’m away from the boat for up to 2/3weeks at a time.
Before inviting lots of warnings, I’d appreciate your knowledge and experience.
Thanks

Gwylan

Visit site
Think about an inline, quick blow, fuse below the rating of the device.
Just in case something goes wrong. A damp boat is better than a burned boat.

Drain into the sink, not the heads.

If you are really clever you can put it on a timer or a thermostat and run through the warmer parts of the day.

We left the boat for nearly 6 months with this set up.

AngusMcDoon

Visit site
Drain into the sink, not the heads.

If you are really clever you can put it on a timer or a thermostat and run through the warmer parts of the day.

I've done that for 20 years. My dehummer is old school and doesn't defrost itself so I use a timer to switch in on and off every few hours. Any ice formed melts that way. Without that it creates an iceberg big enough to counteract sea level rise (or maybe make it worse if the boat is afloat :) ).

EugeneR

Visit site
After 10+ years, I consider a dehumidifier with humidity control draining into the galley sink, plus tube heaters on thermostat (or better, Thermotxt) so they maintain a constant temperature, as one of the best maintenance investments perhaps after Coppercoat.

No mould, no smell, no damp, and significantly less corrosion and/or green e.g. in window grooves. When buying, you can spot boats that had this, from those that did not, from a mile.

Stemar

Visit site
Unless the boat is air tight you will using a lot of power to make a puddle of water in the galley sink.