Brit buying a natante sailboat in Italy and sailing to Greece. Greek Flag registration? VAT? Insurance? Buying process in Italy?

garen

Visit site
I'm a complete newbie to this forum and to sailboat ownership, so - Howdy All!!! Hope you're all having a great day!

I'm a British citizen, and I spend a lot of time in Greece (but no residence permit in Greece). I have skipper certification in Greece and crewed a lot. I want to buy a small sailboat that is only 9m (30') in Italy and sail her to Greece where she will be permanently moored (it will be good for island-hopping and coastal cruising). In italy boats below 10m don't have to register, so this sailboat is considered as "natante" (like a bycicle) and does not have a flag or registration. It does not have CE certificate, only its outboard has a CE certificate. And I doubt it has a VAT certificate (I assume). And I doubt it has a valid insurance (it's just a small hobby racer that has been on the ground for 2 years). I'm planning to fly to Italy soon, to see the boat and will most likely buy it; and will stay in the boatyard for couple of weeks to prepare her for the voyage to Greece. And so I have a few questions:

1) What are my options in terms of Flag registration?
* British Red Ensign - I could register her with Part 3 since I live mostly in London, for just £35, but from what I understand I would need to hire an Authorised Surveyor, pay for vessel weighing - all very costly; And in addition, in Greece I would have to obtain a Travel Log (80 euros every 18 months) and sail her to International Waters at least once in 18 months -- too much hussle and costly.
* Italian flag - I don't think I can obtain it, cause I'm not Italian citizen.
* Malta and Switzerland - These flags look aesthetically nicest, but I would need to set up and maintain a company for that - presumably, quite costly!