Battery charging

Wild Goose400

Visit site
Hi first time on this forum and I’m not technical.

I’ve spent two hours with the engine running to charge my boat domestic batteries today.

The battery monitor said they were down to 45% and we causing fire up the heater.

After 2 hrs charging they were still only at 56% according to the monitor.

Went ashore for two hours and came back having left only the fridge on and everything else off.

The monitor now shows 100% charged!

Any ideas what’s going on? Is the battery monitor faulty?

Tranona

Visit site
The important figure is the resting voltage. a fully charged battery should be above 12.7 volts. the %age charged figures are only a guide as it depends on how the monitor is set up. surprising though to go from 45 to 100 in only 2 hours - 45-56 is more like it. Give it 3 hours with no load and measure the voltage.

Refueler

Visit site
Hi first time on this forum and I’m not technical.

I’ve spent two hours with the engine running to charge my boat domestic batteries today.
[/QUOTE]

Are you with old fashioned 1-2-both switch or VSR ?

If VSR - then engine most likely was spending most of its time charging Engine Start battery before domestic battery.

The battery monitor said they were down to 45% and we causing fire up the heater.
[/QUOTE]

Sorry - don't understand about 'heater' ???

After 2 hrs charging they were still only at 56% according to the monitor.

Went ashore for two hours and came back having left only the fridge on and everything else off.

The monitor now shows 100% charged!

Any ideas what’s going on? Is the battery monitor faulty?

Fridge was probably at temp and therefore reduces down to very low demand and I assume this charge was from mains charger - not engine ?? If nothing else on - charge will be good and directed where you decide ..

PaulRainbow

Visit site