Another rip-off rant!!

dk

Visit site
I have just bought a new wiring loom for a Yanmar that consists of four plugs and 12 x 3m long wires taped together into a rough harness - the sort of thing I used to knock out for motorbikes at a tenner a time. Guess how much? Well you're probably wrong - it was a mere £130!!!!

I'm in the wrong business!

Jools_of_Top_Cat

Visit site
I am generally the first one to winge at rip off prices, but this might not be so unreasonable.

Last year when I bought and fitted two yanmar 1GM10's to my catamaran I needed to extend the starboard loom to bring it up to the panel at the helm. I am an electronics engineer so I am probably quicker than most but it still took me a couple of hours to measure out and then re-loom and cover. The origional loom looks hand built, and probably took as long to construct, i.e. measure and cut cables, loom then crimp pins and fit to plugs.

Most companies of appreciable size will charge out at £50.00 per hour minimum, so although this price if I had to pay it would seriously wind me up, at the same time it may not be all that unreasonable. Just a thought.

Julian

http://www.ukstaffords.com

webcraft

www.bluemoment.com
If you can make them for a tenner then make up some and advertise them for £50. There's plenty of Yanmar owners out there.

Otherwise, I agree with previous correspondents - it doesn't seem so unreasonable - I would expect to pay that for a wiring loom for my car.

<font color=blue>Nick</font color=blue>
<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.bluemoment.com>
bluemoment.gif
</A>

dk

Visit site
Re: Motorbike looms