AIS dongle - anybody tried one?

maxi77

Active member
Joined
11 Nov 2007
Messages
6,084
Location
Kingdom of Fife
Visit site
They look pretty good, I look forward to hearing how well they work.

Seems a good idea but their euro postage is extortionate. £20 extra to post to the EU must be at least 10 times the real cost, pretty poor when they say free P&P.

Do these people really think we are that stupid?
 

Philthy

New member
Joined
24 Jul 2010
Messages
96
Location
Dawlish, Devon
www.skidvd.co.uk
I'm interested in one of these.
Just wondering what might be the bet way of feeding it?
Split the masthead antenna feed, or get another aerial on the pushpit.
A second aerial would be a bonus if the masthead got broken for some reason?
 

bluedragon

Active member
Joined
7 Apr 2004
Messages
1,773
Location
Cardiff Bay
Visit site
C'mon guys get real! Businesses set exchange rates on an expected average basis for the the year or other period, and not that long ago the rate was much closer to 120EU/£. Sometimes they win, sometimes they lose. You can't expect a pricing policy to be updated every day / week. You really are nit-picking here. And BTW go and try to get the money market rates for any such transaction. End of rant.
 

Madhatter

New member
Joined
23 Sep 2009
Messages
3,316
Location
Minehead / boat Porlock (I hope)
wp.me
C'mon guys get real! Businesses set exchange rates on an expected average basis for the the year or other period, and not that long ago the rate was much closer to 120EU/£. Sometimes they win, sometimes they lose. You can't expect a pricing policy to be updated every day / week. You really are nit-picking here. And BTW go and try to get the money market rates for any such transaction. End of rant.

Yes, maybe I should have said that:D
 

Wandering Star

Well-known member
Joined
8 Feb 2009
Messages
5,106
Location
Dorset
Visit site
This looks really interesting. Would anyone with a better understanding than me, be able to tell me whether this thing would work with the Tsunamis 99 software which I have on my Dell netbook? I'm sailing Florida to UK week after next and this would be be very helpful if it was compatible.

I have emailed the supplier to ask them, but thought I might get a quicker response from forumites!

Cheers, Brian.
 

Colvic Watson

Well-known member
Joined
23 Nov 2004
Messages
10,862
Location
Norfolk
Visit site
I'm interested in one of these.
Just wondering what might be the bet way of feeding it?
Split the masthead antenna feed, or get another aerial on the pushpit.
A second aerial would be a bonus if the masthead got broken for some reason?

I recommend the pushpit. We used that on our last AIS setup and it had no trouble 'seeing' 8 or 9 miles away. In the event of a mast failure or much more likely a cable failure to the masthead ariel it gives you a spare VHF ariel. I don't understand the economics of a VHF splitter, more expensive than an extra VHF whip but I guess it saves routing a new one.
 

Philthy

New member
Joined
24 Jul 2010
Messages
96
Location
Dawlish, Devon
www.skidvd.co.uk
This looks really interesting. Would anyone with a better understanding than me, be able to tell me whether this thing would work with the Tsunamis 99 software which I have on my Dell netbook? I'm sailing Florida to UK week after next and this would be be very helpful if it was compatible.

I have emailed the supplier to ask them, but thought I might get a quicker response from forumites!

Cheers, Brian.

Can you set the AIS port in the settings tab of Tsunamis 99 software ie com 1 com 2 com 3etc?
If so, I'd say yes.
It appears to spit out AIS data at the usual rates, so can't see it having a baud rate problem ?

Edit to add:
@Black kipper
I do like the idea of having a spare aerial. Eight or nine miles range for AIS "should" be enough ?
 
Last edited:

maxi77

Active member
Joined
11 Nov 2007
Messages
6,084
Location
Kingdom of Fife
Visit site
C'mon guys get real! Businesses set exchange rates on an expected average basis for the the year or other period, and not that long ago the rate was much closer to 120EU/£. Sometimes they win, sometimes they lose. You can't expect a pricing policy to be updated every day / week. You really are nit-picking here. And BTW go and try to get the money market rates for any such transaction. End of rant.

As at the moment I am converting a hard earned sterling pension into euros I keep a close eye on the rate and over the last 12 months it has only flashed up to 1.20 for a few days twice. Equally I have to work hard to make my cash stretch as far as possible. So yes I look at just how much things are costing me and do not take that kindly to companies taking the easy way on setting exchange rates so they never lose, but the punter usually does.

They make their choice, I make mine just as we are all entitled to do.

I am amazed just how many companies grossly overcharge for sending goods to Europe when others manage to do it at what I consider are very reasonable costs
 

Pye_End

Well-known member
Joined
5 Feb 2006
Messages
5,082
Location
N Kent Coast
Visit site
As at the moment I am converting a hard earned sterling pension into euros I keep a close eye on the rate and over the last 12 months it has only flashed up to 1.20 for a few days twice.

Unless they can use their Euros then they will probably need to change them back to £'s, which may well be 1.2.

A quick look at NatWest today gives 1.07 sell rate, but 1.23 sell rate.

The gadget looks interesting, and good value if it works well.
 

maxi77

Active member
Joined
11 Nov 2007
Messages
6,084
Location
Kingdom of Fife
Visit site
Unless they can use their Euros then they will probably need to change them back to £'s, which may well be 1.2.

A quick look at NatWest today gives 1.07 sell rate, but 1.23 sell rate.

The gadget looks interesting, and good value if it works well.

But that is not my problem. Hence if I was interested, and yes it does look a good device, I would buy using my UK address and get it posted to me and save quite a lot. As it is there is no real need for them to take euros, those of us in Euroland can pay with plastic or paypal in almost any currency, if I buy in Euroland I pay in euros if I buy in the UK I pay in pounds.
 

Wandering Star

Well-known member
Joined
8 Feb 2009
Messages
5,106
Location
Dorset
Visit site
Can you set the AIS port in the settings tab of Tsunamis 99 software ie com 1 com 2 com 3etc?
If so, I'd say yes.
It appears to spit out AIS data at the usual rates, so can't see it having a baud rate problem ?

Edit to add:
@Black kipper
I do like the idea of having a spare aerial. Eight or nine miles range for AIS "should" be enough ?
Thanks for this, yes, I do believe it'll work and I think I'll order one.

Cheers, Brian.
 

Robin

Well-known member
Joined
30 May 2001
Messages
18,063
Location
high and dry on north island
Visit site
Tsunamis only gives a choice of ports from 1-10 I believe. I had trouble linking a GPS to it because the GPS was on 21. Easy solution is a free program called Xport which tells you which COM ports are in use and allows input data to be sent to any that are free, so you can steer it to another that Tsunamis will accept. I have my Globalsat BU-353 running simultaneuosly on 4 ports to run OpenCPN, Seaclear, Neptune C-Map Planner and Tsunamis using Xport!

Actually IMO Tsunamis is very clunky and user unfriendly, OpenCPN is free and is superb by comparison and also does AIS.
 

Piddy

Active member
Joined
18 Jan 2005
Messages
881
Location
Hampshire
Visit site
Tsunamis 99 does not have an AIS capability. NaviGator does but at a premium price of 200 Euros for that capability, although I understand they will do deals if purchased with chart updates.

Cheers
 

tomcheney

New member
Joined
27 Apr 2011
Messages
3
Visit site
I'm interested in one of these.
Just wondering what might be the bet way of feeding it?
Split the masthead antenna feed, or get another aerial on the pushpit.
A second aerial would be a bonus if the masthead got broken for some reason?

In general it is fine to split an antenna for an AIS receiver but it won't work with a transponder as you have two transmitting devices on the same antenna and they will screw each other up.

There are products available to do this though, for example: http://www.digitalyacht.co.uk/product_info.php?products_id=11587
 
Top