Wind data coverage

Max K

N/A
Joined
16 Feb 2015
Messages
1,607
Location
Central England, towards Birmingham
I intend to sign up for Wind's mobile broadband as it is much better value than our existing Vodaphone deal. Comtracts look fine, hardware is OK but the only aspect I can't verify is Wind's coverage over Greece Vodafone's has been faultless. Anyone able to advise?

Max.

.
 

sailaboutvic

Well-known member
Joined
26 Jan 2004
Messages
9,983
Location
Northern Europe
Max I can assure you depending where you go the coverage is from ok to none it seen to be fine around the Ionian islands but as you go south you will find it very patches at time nothing , we used it in Lefkas over winter and it was fine there , the rest of the time we use Cosmote which work almost every where unless you are really somewhere remote sourounded by mountains , internet is a bit like insurances , when you really need it , then you want it to be a good service .
 
Last edited:

RobbieW

Well-known member
Joined
24 Jun 2007
Messages
4,546
Location
On land for now
I gave up on Wind in the Ionian last year and switched to Cosmote, there was no signal in many of the anchorages I used
 

JFowler

Active member
Joined
10 Jan 2008
Messages
677
Location
Moor & Dock- Leros
Agree with the above- we gave up on Wind because of the poor coverage. Vodafone coverage is fine, but our experience this season with a data sim has been disarstrous. We'll be sticking with Cosmote from now on.
 

Davy_S

Well-known member
Joined
31 Jan 2003
Messages
10,693
Location
in limbo at the mo.
Max, if you had mentioned this the other night we could have compared signals, I am on cosmote, I get a better signal than Vodaphone and Wind. Friends have just ditched Wind because of an unreliable signal. It could be different elsewhere, but Wind is patchy on Kef.
 

Max K

N/A
Joined
16 Feb 2015
Messages
1,607
Location
Central England, towards Birmingham
Max, if you had mentioned this the other night we could have compared signals, I am on cosmote, I get a better signal than Vodaphone and Wind. Friends have just ditched Wind because of an unreliable signal. It could be different elsewhere, but Wind is patchy on Kef.
Yes David, I know that Comote has good coverage but for mobile data they only offer the same package as Vodafone, €15 for 5G a momth. Wind offer 20G for €20

Max.

.
 

sailaboutvic

Well-known member
Joined
26 Jan 2004
Messages
9,983
Location
Northern Europe
Yes David, I know that Comote has good coverage but for mobile data they only offer the same package as Vodafone, €15 for 5G a momth. Wind offer 20G for €20

Max.

.

Max you know what they say ? A bargain isn't a bargain if it don't work mate .whats the use of 20 GB or 50 GB if you can get it .
Any way you asked for are opinion , we tryed to help you ,
 
Last edited:

NornaBiron

New member
Joined
6 Jan 2009
Messages
966
Location
Greece
We took out a Wind contract about a month ago as the coverage in Crete is fine. We've previously had a contract with them and did find the coverage in the Aegean islands occassionally patchy. The shop manager mentioned to us this time that Wind will be hooking up to the Vodafone system soon so coverage should be improved.
 

DaveRo

Well-known member
Joined
15 Nov 2007
Messages
3,026
Voda and Wind have created a joint venture, Victus Networks, to share 2g and 3g networks in non-urban areas. It doesn't cover all 3g and not 4g at all. Voda's network always was better than Wind's so this should improve Wind's coverage - though not to match Voda's I think.
 
Top