Will a built in GPS for DSC work in cabin?

Catamaran

New member
Joined
18 Jun 2014
Messages
85
Morning all,

Thinking of fitting an Icom M423g VHF with the built in gps for the DSC.

Question is, will it work through a standard fibreglass cabin roof/bulkhead?

My iPad and other modern gps equipment work in the cabin, but Icom fitting instructions suggest it should be fitted in a window or open air...

We want a built in gps to minimise the chance of breakage or cockup if DSC is ever required?
 

johnalison

Well-known member
Joined
14 Feb 2007
Messages
38,475
Location
Essex
I don't know about the Icom, but my Raymarine e7 works from in the cabin of my 34. I think much modern equipment is more sensitive than in the past.
 

Tam Lin

Well-known member
Joined
1 Sep 2010
Messages
3,655
Location
Essex, near the R. Blackwater
Just bought a Standard Horizon 1700e. Works well inside and picks up the satellites quickly. I know it's not an Icom but if one make can work then I expect others do.
 

Alpha22

Active member
Joined
22 Sep 2003
Messages
1,400
Location
Cambridgeshire
It will probably be OK. But consider if the deck is awash it may have issues..... The signals go through GRP no problem, but an inch of water will kill them dead.
 

Giblets

Well-known member
Joined
5 Mar 2006
Messages
9,253
Location
Surrey
We have a Garmin plotter with inbuilt aerial at the chart table which supplies the VHF with the position feed and that set-up works OK. Can take a bit of time to lock on on start-up but no probs otherwise.
 

Catamaran

New member
Joined
18 Jun 2014
Messages
85
It will probably be OK. But consider if the deck is awash it may have issues..... The signals go through GRP no problem, but an inch of water will kill them dead.

Good point... It'll be fitted under the cabin roof, which is sloping, so it'll never be awash for more than a second at a time.
 
Top