Which paper magazines do you read?

Which paper magazine do you read most often?

• Practical Boat Owner

Votes: 61 56.0%
  • Yachting Monthly

Votes: 49 45.0%
  • Motor Boat

Votes: 1 0.9%
  • Yachts and Yachting

Votes: 1 0.9%
  • Sailing Today

Votes: 37 33.9%
  • Yachting World

Votes: 6 5.5%
  • None

Votes: 14 12.8%
  • Something not mentioned above

Votes: 16 14.7%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

tim_ber

Visit site
I'm not very good with polls, but I'll try:

I'm interested to know if practical sailors read Practical boat owner, Yachting monthly, Yachts and Yachting, Yachting world, Motor Boat, Sailing Today

Thanks in advance.
I am wondering if I need a flak jacket here.

Last edited:

tim_ber

Visit site
i read discarded ones, not actually bought a copy in 15 yrs :eek:

I know what you mean.

I read them in the library if / when I pop in, but don't buy.

PBO first then Y monthly.

Use to read (subscribe) to Sailing Today many years ago when it started and enjoyed their different approach, but something happened and it stopped being so novel.

Last edited:

Ubergeekian

Me: Castle Douglas, SW Scotland. Boats: Kirkcudbri
www.drmegaphone.com
I'm a cheapskate, and Sailing Today seems to appreciate cheapskateness. I get PBO most months but gave up on YM ages ago when it became an expensive way to get press releases, advertising brochures and yet another bloody article by Tom Cunliffe on MOB techniques. Rumour has it that YM is doing some actual journalism these days, so I may have to reinvestigate.

I've just read Classic Boat for the first time, as it has an article by Chuck Paine on the design of the Frances hull. It's OK, and some of the writing is quite good, but the use of imperial units only in most articles is an irritating affectation and I am not sure I have quite the required sexual fetish for varnished wood to be a regular reader.

tim_ber

Visit site