Wheel or tiller on halftonner

Rum Run

Visit site
Hello all, this is a question about Design:
My new-to-me MAB has wheel steering, but the boat was originally designed with a tiller. I have very little experience of wheel steered boats, and do not know if it is really appropriate for this boat and my intended use. I have the opportunity to remove the wheel etc and re-install the tiller gear.

The boat is a Thompson T31, designed the 60's in the Half-Tonner style; Fin and skeg, long overhangs, deep iron keel, masthead rig. Not dissimilar to an Elizabethan 30. The cockpit is quite narrow and the wheel fills the width, so going round it is a bit awkward, though I can steer from in front and use the wheelpilot. Forward view is fine and the helmsman's ergonomics are fine off the wind but unknown to me when beating. I've only done a delivery trip on her and that was downwind all the way.

I mainly sail single-handed, and this boat is for passage making and a bit of club racing on appropriate courses. I tend to sail pro-actively, trying to keep the boat going as well as possible.

So which is the better method of steering this boat for these uses?

Tranona

Visit site
Don't think either is better, although many prefer a tiller as it tends to give more feel. A wheel takes some time to get used to, and presumably as it has been on the boat for many years, previous owners have found it satisfactory, perhaps you should try it for this year and then decide.

Birdseye

Visit site
In general a wheel gives lighter steering through lower gearing measured at the rim and that might be the reason that the steering was originally changed. Its also handy on a beat when racing to be able to sit to leeward all the better to see the genoa telltails.

In port a wheel is a nuisance - cant be folded up and out of the way. Getting out from behind the wheel to moor up single handed is also more of an issue.