what have you sucked up (your raw water intakes!!)

stefan_r

athito.home.services.spaces.live.com
I am a bit concerned about sucking a bag or something up my raw water intakes into the cooling system and blocking it, overheating the engines and probably providing me with the sort of bill I can frame and show my grandchildren...

At SBS I say a gizmo on the Halyard stand that was an exhaust temp sensor and was sorely tempted as it did seem like a good idea but it will probably work out to be a £500 or £600 investment.

Already got ropecutters, seen 2 knot drop in top end and not sure how much change in fuel efficiency....is this just another bit of kit for the paranoid or a worthy investment???

Spoke to my insurers and they said 'oh yeah mate if it is an accident then you're covered for engine repairs'...nothing explicit in the policy handbook and - as I work in insurance - I know that if there is a way to avoid paying, they will.

Cheers
Stefan

mailto: stefan@athito.com

claymore

Visit site
I was at Ardentrive, Kerrera this summer when someone got a jellyfish sucked in. They were just checking that the exhaust was spitting out water after starting the engine. Noticing that it wasn't the problem was soon discovered. It's doubtful whether an exhaust temperature monitor would register this kind of problem soon enough. I have a skin fitting over my cooling water intake which should stop something big, but a plastic bag sucked on whilst the boat is stationary would be hard to discover. No substitutes really for looking over the back and seeing a health splash of cycled water being spat out and if motoring, keeping an ear on things.

ChrisP

Visit site
Had to change an exhaust last week. After fitting the new one it seemed to run hot. Yep you guessed it. A bag partially blocking the intake. strange thing is the engine ran fine at all revs but I'm sure it helped damage the rubber hose.