Water fresh

poter

Still going south currently in Corsica for winter
www.fairhead.com
I am in a bit of a dilemma, going to now leave the womb of the marina and hopefully spend most of my cruising time on the hook, I will then have the problem of fresh water, yes i have storage of around 250 lts. but with most of the time on the hook fresh water will become a problem. Do I get a plastic jerry cans and fill up where i can, or get a water maker?

Richard10002

Visit site
You shouldnt have any problem nipping into a marina for water every now and then. You might have to pay a nominal amount, or buy some fuel, or spend a night, or any combination. A watermaker is the ideal, but not particularly straightforward - IMHO :)

Carmel2

Visit site
ok, so which one?
most seem to be thousands of pounds.
help

Ours is an Echotec. I have no experience of others. What drew us to this make is they are used on charter boats in the Caribbean, so if you trust a punter not to bugger it up then the chances of me doing so are less. We make around 70l an hour, maintenance is not difficult or time-consuming.

Last edited:

Yngmar

Visit site
You shouldnt have any problem nipping into a marina for water every now and then. You might have to pay a nominal amount, or buy some fuel, or spend a night, or any combination. A watermaker is the ideal, but not particularly straightforward - IMHO :)

+1 This has served us well so far. We mostly use only our 230 litre tank and that lasts us two weeks without being too careful with it (much longer if we really try). This includes fresh water showers after salt water swims, and the myth about needing special soap for salter water is just that. On the way down to the Algarve, we stopped in marinas plenty often, either because there were no alternatives or because we wanted to see the sights on land, and then would provision the boat with food, fuel and water. Never had to haul water in jerrycans (although fuel we did once).