The Vital Spark.

hlb

RIP
Visit site
Having so far seemed to concentrate my time, on disaster stories,
And being as I’m sat here with little else to do.

I thought I’d have a go at writing one about a trip where nearly nothing went wrong.
I’m not very good with the descriptive stuff, so you will just have to do your own adlibbing about the scenery, pools of light on silken water and any other crap you can think of, just to spin it out.

For those with only small, or no boat at all. Or for the raggies who wonder what a boat with engines is all about. This trip might do some thing for you.

It was probably about 6 years ago.

The trip again in our Princess 33 at the time, again set off from Pwlheli North Wales.

The weather was calm for once as we headed SW for the 25 miles or so, down the Lleyn peninsular. Even the races round Bardsey were behaving themselves. The course was to lead us north, up to Holly Head for the night, but everything being very uneventful. We just carried on up the Irish sea to The Isle Of Man.

Now I would not call Douglas a pretty place, But some body had the fore thought to put it in a handy refuelling spot.
I know the island is supposed to be a nice place. But the wander round Douglas just confirmed the lack of visitors. B&B £8 on the sea front, pick your own hotel!

The next day the sea looked a bit more lively but we headed out, East for some reason, to go round the island before heading NW up the Mull Of Gallway. I know I’ve said it before. But look on an Admiralty Chart of this area and it says. Dangerous For Small Vessels. And my pilot book says. That means. Mine Sweepers and Destroyers!
I hadn’t thought the weather was bad enough to worry about the over falls or wind over tide, but the look was horrific. White water, everywhere in front!
Well we sort of bounced and sploshed through it. At least it all seemed to be coming from the same direction. Still it seemed a bloody long hour till coming out the other side of it.