Taxing Gas Question

Trevor_swfyc

Visit site
Gas is being used a lot more in boats now that it is becoming more readily available, but can the same gas be used in a road vehicle from a tax point of view.

Trevor

<hr width=100% size=1>

Pete735

Visit site
If you are talking about LPG, then yes, I have been using it in my car for 3 years now. Not sure about the tax question, though, I have always assumed that unless used for heating, lpg picks up duty just like petrol.

<hr width=100% size=1>

Evadne

Visit site
I think the answer\'s yes

As I understand it, LPG in cars doesn't attract road tax, which is why it is cheaper than diesel. It is also the obvious replacement fuel for big MoBos if and when red diesel comes to an end. You could always search HMCE site <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.hmce.gov.uk/channelsPortalWebApp/channelsPortalWebApp.portal> here </A> if you've a spare hour.

<hr width=100% size=1>

DJE

www.casl.uk.com
Re: I think the answer\'s yes

Didn't I hear somewhere that you can run diesels on cooking oil? Seem to remember a stroy about a chip shop owner running his car on the old oil.

<hr width=100% size=1>

mikewilkes

Visit site

Safeway do a good trade in North Scotland on cooking oil - allegedly......

<hr width=100% size=1>
Gaelic_Cat.thumb.jpg

bluevelvet

Visit site
LPG can be used in your car and if you buy it from a garage their is a road duty tax built in.However if you used boat or heating gas the tax man says you should notify him of your useage.Car use of LPG is increasing greatly due to the high price of oil and LPG is also creeping up but for the forseeable it will remain at less than half the price of petrol.I have been useing gas cars for over five years and would not consisder going back.Regards John

<hr width=100% size=1>

bedouin

Visit site