Can’t pole out the clew of an a-sail is the basic issue. You have to pole out the tack. Lots of lovely photos of the boat approaching the finish line like that, so doesn’t look like they were aware…Current leader to be protested? on 'sheeting sails' rules. Shock protest against yacht on brink of historic Sydney Hobart victory. Anyone care to enlighten us?
Surprisingly to still get 2nd place after such a clear breach of the rules. I wondered if DSQ or at least a 10% places penalty. Still on the podium is very generous.Tough but fair. Can’t be no sanction for using a pole in a way that’s not allowed.