Starting Out

GoCatGo

Visit site
I am TOTALLY new to sailing. I do appreciate that my concepts of what i need and am capable of are probably wrong, so i was hoping someone out there could help me out with a little knowledge.

I am now 25years old and in two years time my end goal is to be able to sail a reasonable sized yacht ( alone when necessary ) around the med and maybe further. I plan to live on the boat and pay my way working bars on land and taking people out for a days sailing etc ( i accept that this may infringe some laws ).

Firstly, learning to sail? Where should i start, how far do i need to take my training for what i want? , what do i need (qualifications etc) to sail in other countries waters, and any general advice.

Boats? I am currently envisaging myself aboard something around 30 - 35 ft. Budget wise i'd like to keep it within £20,000. Can i sail a boat this large alone??? Does auto pilot make single handed sailing viable? Any suggestions?

Budgets? I have read much around this topic and i am still quiet clueless. Initially i thought of having around £6,000 in a bank account drawing upon it when needed and replacing funds when possible, Is this absolutely crazy??? I am keen to keep costs down, eating aboard and only drinking the local beer!

Working? Has anyone else tried to support themselves whilst cruising? I thought of bar work at popluar tourist destinations like Malaga, Minorca etc . Does anyone have an inspirational story or know of others who've tried the same thing?

I understand that this plan will never make me a millionaire, but at least i'd be free.

Please post relpies, even if you think i'm an idiot. All thoughts good or bad may help.

Many thanks

<hr width=100% size=1>

A

Anonymous