Start-line Rules (and other racing matters).

Robert Wilson

Well-Known Member
Joined
23 May 2012
Messages
8,053
Location
Second Coast, Ross-shire, overlooking Gruinard Bay
Visit site
In a recent race I gave way on the start line, but now think I should have STOOD MY GROUND. What do the people think?

The start line was between two marks with the starter’s boat to port and several boat-lengths clear of the line. The wind, blowing F5/F6 almost straight at the line, with the first turning mark directly to windward.
My boat was approx one third from port mark on a very fine starboard reach, going well, with three to four lengths to the line and with well less than half a minute to the gun. I eased my main-sheet to reduce a speed a little.
A cracking start was promising.
On my starboard were two boats sailing almost parallel to the line, and a length closer to the line, on broader starboard reaches, closing on me fast - shouting for water/starboard.
Close on my port, over-hauling me, was a much larger/faster boat than me, close-hauled; very close to the port mark.

Being unsure of the rules I assumed the boats on my starboard had the right to make me give way and as I started to bear-away the large boat on my port screamed “water” and refused to give way. A collision looked pretty inevitable if I held my course so I hauled-up on my tiller and JUST managed to clear the large boat’s transom. A very close call, but this made me miss the mark (leaving it on my starboard).
Remember, it was blowing hard and a collision would have resulted in significant damage.

Having missed the mark, I gybed and completed a 360 turnabout, then sailed through the start line on port tack – as the leading boats raced away to windward.

1) SHOULD I have held my course on the line, refusing to give way to the two boats approaching from starboard (on starboard tack, as I was): Thus forcing them to clear MY stern?

2) If the starboard-hand boats had the right of way, SHOULD I have born-away as I did but forced the large boat on my port to give me water?

Other racing matters:
During the race one boat “A” missed a windward mark, but failed to correct and sail around. I was the only boat close enough to see the error.
On approaching this mark the said boat was on a collision course with me. I had been watching him for five or so minutes, assuming he would tack or go astern of me. It was clear he hadn’t seen me (he was on port, I was on starboard – both close hauled and sailing at maximum speed in choppy waters). As required I and my crew screamed “starboard” several times whilst preparing to tack to miss him (COLREGS). In the last seconds he looked under his main and bore-away JUST in time; with, as I might add, a look of extreme shock.
He would have T-Boned me amidships and probably sunk us both, let alone causing potential serious injuries.
As a result of going astern of me he could not quite make the mark, but bore-away as if he had, then sailed on.

During the race a boat “B” astern of me (but beating me on corrected time/handicap) hit the last sailing mark, but failed to go around again. I was again the only boat close enough to witness the error.

During the race a boat “C” flew his red ensign throughout. He also beat me on corrected time/handicap.

It was not a “high-powered” race, nor was it a points race for the season’s cup; but taken seriously none-the-less.
It was a great race, with some thrilling sailing and very demanding conditions.
I finished 6th of twelve, on corrected time/handicap.

The position/result matters not to me, but for future reference:-
Did I have grounds for protest, SHOULD I have protested, and would the four/some of them been disqualified?
 
I only race in "fun" races, so I'm no expert. I thought I would answer your questions just to see if I'm right and will wait for experts to come along with the correct answers.
On the start line it sounds to me that you should have stood on at first as the boats to your starboard were the windward boats. I would also have shouted to tell them. Obviously don't stand on long enough to cause an accident. If you are forced to give way, protest. The second incident should not have happened but as it seems you were the windward boat you did the correct thing in my opinion.
With the two boats at buoys I would have raised a protest flag.
The guy with the ensign I would have a quiet word in the bar afterwards.
Above all I would try to avoid racing with the people you describe.
I look forward seeing if my thoughts are correct.
Allan
 
Last edited:
I haven't raced for a few years so my understanding of the rules is a bit rusty.
From your description all boats were on starboard tack, so only windward / leeward rules apply. The boats to windward of you have to keep clear even if that means they cross the line too early.
You have to keep clear of the boat to leeward of you.
The call for water does not apply when approaching the start line but windward boat still keeps clear.
It sounds like you have the usual cases of start line bullying and people trying it on.
The second incident is just plain old fashioned cheating.
Flying an ensign is understood to be "not racing" but, unless part of the SIs, not an infringement.
 
Sounds like a fun day out on the water! The start is all about windward and leeward boats, assuming you are all on the same tack (in this case stbd). Unless I have the scene wrong, the boats to stbd had no rights - they are windward boat and must keep clear of you. The boat to leeward (the big gun) has rights on you because you, in this case were his windward boat.

So what calls? Suspect you should have called for the two boats to stbd to "go up" as "windward boat". The big boat below you can't call water at the start but can force you up as his "windward boat" thus creating water.

As per the other calls - your judgement whether to protest but make sure you have a witness, state (call) your intent to protest and display a red flag. On going ashore register your protest with the committee (or follow what ever process your SI's state).

Make sense or did I misunderstand the scenario?
 
Basically in agreement with Allan except that I would probably have protested on each occasion, not so much as to disqualify others / gain places myself but to help teach others the rules. It doesn't nowadays have to be a full protest hearing and can be done by a much more educational mediation process.

I'd also add that the big guy to your port on the start line was doing to you what you could have done to the other two. You took one of the possible courses of action - slowing down and going behind - and broke no rules in doing so so long as you didn't impede the boat on your port side.
 
I only race in "fun" races, so I'm no expert. I thought I would answer your questions just to see if I'm right and will wait for experts to come along with the correct answers.
On the start line it sounds to me that you should have stood on at first as the boats to your starboard were the windward boats. I would also have shouted to say tell them. Obviously don't stand on long enough to cause an accident. If you are forced to give way, protest. The second incident should not have happened but as it seems you were the windward boat you did the correct thing in my opinion.
With the two boats at buoys I would have raised a protest flag.
The guy with the ensign I would have a quiet word in the bar afterwards.
Above all I would try to avoid racing with the people you describe.
I look forward seeing if my thoughts are correct.
Allan

Very sensible of you to await the "people who know"!! I, like you, await their response (hopefully). But thank you for your prompt and interesting comments.

I particularly agree with your comment about the ensign/quiet word. But as it happened last year as well (different boat), I think I might have a "quiet word" with the race committee before next year's race. As it is said, Rules are Rules - for one AND all.
Many thanks.
 
As everyone else had said, its windward boat keep clear. Shouting 'water' doesn't give anyone any rights as it doesn't exist in the rules anymore.

You had to keep clear of the boat below, even though it was travelling faster and you were well within your rights, and should have, pushed the two boats above you up and over the line. As long as this isn't done in a dangerous way, you can luff/push them as far as head to wind.

Get them over the start line before the gun and make them restart, its a race and that means its not just about making your boat go fast :D

Learning the racing rules can seem a little dull at first, but its well worth spending time doing it with your crew going through 'what if' situations. Not only will it give you heaps of confidence in close quarter situations but remember you can use them to your advantage.

The other bits are blatantly cheating expect the ensign flying which although technically incorrect isn't worth getting upset about.

edited to add - a good habit is within the crew have one person who is designated 'shouter' to communicate with other boats, rather than everyone do it. Also on port/sboard situations remember to think about where you are wanting to go, if you are on starboard but want to go to the lhs of the course, you may be better off telling the boat approaching on port to hold their ground and duck them, rather than risk them tacking on top of you and forcing you to tack yourself. Hope this all helps.
 
Last edited:
I would suggest considering whether you wish to race with people who don't even go around the marks.
I can recommend 'The Rules in Practice' by Bryan Willis. I am sure there will be a new edition for the new version of the rules coming into effect Jan 1.

On the start line, Port/Starboard and windward boat apply, you should have kept clear of the boat below you, the boats on your windward side need to keep clear of you.

The port/starboard you describe is not a foul unless you were forced to alter course.
Not rounding the mark means not finishing the race.

There may be factors which you have not told us about, there tend to be two sides to these stories.
I'm sure it's just a fun race, and not important, but any collision is a serious business in F5/6, so people need to take their responsibilities seriously IMHO.
 
From the rulebook:

Definitions:

Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap One boat is clear astern of another when her hull and equipment in normal position are behind a line abeam from the aftermost point of the other boat’s hull and equipment in normal position. The other boat is clear ahead. They overlap when neither is clear astern. However, they also overlap when a boat between them overlaps both. These terms always apply to boats on the same tack. They do not apply to boats on opposite tacks unless rule 18 applies or both boats are sailing more than ninety degrees from the true wind.

Keep Clear One boat keeps clear of another if the other can sail her course with no need to take avoiding action and, when the boats are overlapped on the same tack, if the leeward boat can change course in both directions without immediately making contact with the windward boat.

Room The space a boat needs in the existing conditions while manoeuvring
promptly in a seamanlike way.

Rules:

11 ON THE SAME TACK, OVERLAPPED
When boats are on the same tack and overlapped, a windward boat shall keep clear of a leeward boat.

12 ON THE SAME TACK, NOT OVERLAPPED
When boats are on the same tack and not overlapped, a boat clear astern shall keep clear of a boat clear ahead.

15 ACQUIRING RIGHT OF WAY
When a boat acquires right of way, she shall initially give the other boat room to keep clear, unless she acquires right of way because of the other boat’s actions.

16 CHANGING COURSE
16.1 When a right-of-way boat changes course, she shall give the other boat room to keep clear.

Boats overlapped to windard of you have to keep clear. Similarly, boats clear astern have to keep clear. So the boats on your starboard had no right to call for any water - they should have kept clear of you. Likewise, as a windward boat you had to keep clear of the boat to leeward.

Rules 15 and 16.1 restrict the actions of a RoW boat. 18 (Mark room) doesn't apply at a start mark.
 
As a result of going astern of me he could not quite make the mark, but bore-away as if he had, then sailed on.

During the race a boat “B” astern of me (but beating me on corrected time/handicap) hit the last sailing mark, but failed to go around again. I was again the only boat close enough to witness the error.

During the race a boat “C” flew his red ensign throughout. He also beat me on corrected time/handicap.

The position/result matters not to me, but for future reference:-
Did I have grounds for protest, SHOULD I have protested, and would the four/some of them been disqualified?

Sounds like your fleet need reminding of a few of the basics:

BASIC PRINCIPLE
SPORTSMANSHIP AND THE RULES
Competitors in the sport of sailing are governed by a body of rules that they are expected to follow and enforce. A fundamental principle of sportsmanship is that when competitors break a rule they will promptly take a penalty, which may be to retire.

2 FAIR SAILING
A boat and her owner shall compete in compliance with recognized principles of sportsmanship and fair play. A boat may be penalized under this rule only if it is clearly established that these principles have been violated. A disqualification under this rule shall not be excluded from the boat’s series score.

Deliberately breaking rules isn't sporting behaviour, and is a breach of Rule 2. Missihg a mark and not going back is a breach of rule 28.1 - which isn't in part 2, so can't be exonerated by a Two Turn penalty. If you miss a mark, you either have to go back and reround properly, or you have to retire.

If you hit a mark, you don't have to go round it again, but you do have to do a One Turn Penalty - get clear, and then sail a full continuous turn including a tack and gybe (or gybe and tack) in the same direction.

There's nothing in the rulebook about ensigns. Not wearing one isn't a requirement, it's just habit.

Sailing is a self policing sport - protests are the mechanism by which rules are enforced. Without people protesting, the rules aren't enforced, as we can see here.

"We should all protest more, and take it less seriously when we do".
 
Last edited:
The term starboard applies to the wind in the sails not the position relative to you.

If I understand your description sounds like the boats to the starboard of you were windward boats.

You can effectively do what you like to a windward boat until the gun goes. Luff them head to wind if that's your desire. You can even force them over the line, which is what most serious racers try to do to their competitors.

After the starting gun goes then it depends upon how you got the overlap in the first place. Sounds like they sailed over you so you can continue to luff them as long as you like. If you came from behind and to leeward of them to form the overlap you've got to go down to your proper course (close hauled) when the gun goes.

It sounds like they were really just trying it on when shouting starboard. You get that even in Class 0. Next time you meet them in the bar wind them up that you've been told you should protest them under rules 2 & 69 (unfair sailing & gross misconduct - they were abusing your inexperience to cheat as they'd got themselves in a position where they could be easily forced over the line). :)

Sounds like you fouled the boat below you. You should've taken a two turns penalty for that not one turn, but never mind.


Buy the Bryan Willis book as it illustrates things well with diagrams. The current one runs out at the end of the year, so if you can't get it at bargain basement prices buy the 2013 one.

"A" should retire from the race. Maybe he didn't realise at the time but once informed he should retire. However he still has all his rights whilst continuing to race.

You handled the port/starboard thing correctly. No obligation to shout STARBOARD but good sense to do it very loudly especially if he hasn't seen you. RRS not IRPCS apply.

"B" should retire too.

I wouldn't worry too much about "C".

As it doesn't sound like that serious a race there's an argument for not taking the rules infringements too seriously, but on the other hand if you let the guys who behave like those did at the start get away with it then they'll keep doing it.
 
Last edited:
Sounds to me like you were racing in a fleet where a number of skippers didn't know the rules, which usually ends in broken boats and bad feelings. This is why I don't do things like RTI any more.

My advice would be to find another bunch of people to race against.
 
The term starboard applies to the wind in the sails not the position relative to you.

If I understand your description sounds like the boats to the starboard of you were windward boats.

You can effectively do what you like to a windward boat until the gun goes. Luff them head to wind if that's your desire. You can even force them over the line, which is what most serious racers try to do to their competitors.

After the starting gun goes then it depends upon how you got the overlap in the first place. Sounds like they sailed over you so you can continue to luff them as long as you like. If you came from behind and to leeward of them to form the overlap you've got to go down to your proper course (close hauled) when the gun goes.

It sounds like they were really just trying it on when shouting starboard. You get that even in Class 0. Next time you meet them in the bar wind them up that you've been told you should protest them under rules 2 & 69 (unfair sailing & gross misconduct - they were abusing your inexperience to cheat as they'd got themselves in a position where they could be easily forced over the line). :)

Sounds like you fouled the boat below you. You should've taken a two turns penalty for that not one turn, but never mind.

Thank you for your help. AND TO EVERYONE ELSE, TOO.

I'm particularly intrigued by the "foul" comment and "two turns penalty".
As I didn't hit him, nor did I force him to alter course or inconvenience him in anyway then I wonder what infrigemnet I committed and why I should have taken a penalty?
Or have I misunderstood your comment?
 
Regarding all your comments (THANK YOU one and all), I must stress that although the race was/is regarded as a proper race, all the skippers/crews are a sociable bunch and as I said in my Post the results don't matter to me (or most of the others).
We shall continue to compete in this annual race and enjoy it, but I was keen to aquaint myself with the proper way of doing it.
What I didn't mention is that I used to race "round the buoys" thirty years ago - rules have changed and grey cells have diminished since then!!

Keep up the good work.
 
I believe ...

The start line - Port Starboard then Windward/Leeward rules apply - if you're all on Starboard then it's just windward/Leeward - you had every right to push those to windward of you over the line - I've done exactly that during an open because we were too early and in the wrong place - achieved a general recall :) - not that it's recommended - but you can stand your ground to windward boats -
the leeward boat you have to give way too - but he can't push you beyond head to wind ...

Port/Starboard - you're right in preparing to give way and calling starboard - if you didn't have to make a course alteration then there is no protest there - if you have to make a course alteration then make it substantial - big bear away or tack and shout PROTEST straight away - it'll be obvious then and more likely to stick in the "protest room"*

Not rounding the mark - he didn't complete the course - simple ... I would just shout an enquiry as to whether he intends to round that mark or not ... if he doesn't correct his course then just shout "PROTEST" and carry on racing - you must assume he has all the normal rights of another racing boat.

Hitting the mark and carrying on - Again, you should just shout "PROTEST" as soon as possible (and he can hear you) - he should then carry out the prescribed penalty (360° turn or re-round at our club) - if he doesn't then lodge the protest with the race officer as soon as possible after finishing.

*Protest rooms don't often appear in "friendly" club racing - it's more a gentleman's agreement on what went wrong over a pint in the bar afterwards! But if some skippers are taking this as meaning they don't have to follow the rules then a strong "protest" call may make them think again - if they don't/won't then I'd consider the merits of racing against cheats!
 
I must stress that although the race was/is regarded as a proper race, all the skippers/crews are a sociable bunch and as I said in my Post the results don't matter to me (or most of the others).

Ah - in which case infringements should incur the 2pint rule ...

for every rule broken the skipper has to buy 2 pints for each and every crew & race officer in that race ....
 
Thank you for your help. AND TO EVERYONE ELSE, TOO.

I'm particularly intrigued by the "foul" comment and "two turns penalty".
As I didn't hit him, nor did I force him to alter course or inconvenience him in anyway then I wonder what infrigemnet I committed and why I should have taken a penalty?
Or have I misunderstood your comment?

If you didn't inconvenience him in any way then I misunderstood. If you'd stopped him coming up (to windward) or made him bear away then you would have fouled him. If he'd protested you'd have been in a very weak position.

Any breach of a rule in part 2 of the RRS (briefly not giving way when you should) means you have to take a two turns penalty. Hitting a mark is a one-turn penalty.

If he protests you but you take a 2 turn penalty (colloquilly a 720) then you're ok.
 
If you didn't inconvenience him in any way then I misunderstood. If you'd stopped him coming up (to windward) or made him bear away then you would have fouled him. If he'd protested you'd have been in a very weak position.
TBH - you should only take penalty turns for fouling another vessel if they shout/call Protest at you ... (and only then if you believe you've fouled them)
 
TBH - you should only take penalty turns for fouling another vessel if they shout/call Protest at you ... (and only then if you believe you've fouled them)

I disagree.
You know you were in the wrong, take turns.
Any other boat observing the incident could protest you.
Even if you are not sure you are in the wrong, take a penalty and you are covered.

It's a self policiing sport, if you don't take penalties you know you deserve, then you can't really complain if others flout the rules. The other boat's crew will base their opinion of you on whether you follow the rules fairly.

In a handicap race, it often does not cost many places.

There are limits to this, perhaps if I've only just cleared a starboard tacker and he's born off ever so fractionally to clear me, you might let it go, but if I make a mistake and obstruct the right of way boat, I don't find it too hard to admit it and do a couple of circles.
It makes it extra rewarding when you overtake them again :-)
 
TBH - you should only take penalty turns for fouling another vessel if they shout/call Protest at you ... (and only then if you believe you've fouled them)

No, you should if you've genuinely fouled them. However, many situations are ambiguous.
 
Top