SPINNAKER- NEED ADVICE ON HOW BEST TO FLY IT

Scotty_Tradewind

Me: South Oxfordshire. Boat, Galicia NW Spain
Visit site
I was trying to fly my spinnaker at weekend in squally conditions and had difficulty.

I have read the books and got the pictures and I think I have all the bits of string and the pole in the right place.

However, with two big guys up front who were still getting things sorted, and doing 6 knots, she began to nose dive and roll badly which threatened the spinnaker as it filled and folded.
What might we be doing wrong? keeep it simple guys as I'm new to this as I usually cruise with a poled out genoa and preventer on the main,
ta
Scotty

Judders

Visit site
Are you getting the hallyard all the way up? And quickly? A kite can make a boat rather unstable if the head is not hard to the mast.

Because the thing has started to fill at this point the last meter or so can be pretty tough to get up but it is essential to do so.

flaming

Visit site
Hard to say without being there, but in general if the boat is rolling, and you're not happy about it, bring the pole forward and down, and oversheet the sheet, flattening the sail. You may also want to head up slightly, to about 160-165 TWA.

This is because the rolling is often caused by the flow of air across the spinnaker oscillating, being first left to right, then right to left, etc. This is caused by being too downwind with a spinnaker that is free to flop from side to side. Also make sure that the halyard is fully hoisted so the head of the sail is held steadier. (Another good argument against the evil snuffer, as the head is held 18 inches or so from the mast)

To cure the nose diving, get the weight back! Either crew weight or have a look at where you are storing heavy things and move some of it backwards.

Racecruiser

Visit site
As judders has said hoisting to the top quickly is a must.