Sewage treatment

Graham_Wright

www.mastaclimba.com
Wife and I have just returned from a fantastic liveaboard diving holiday in the Red Sea.

In facy, it ain't red, its crystal clear.

That is baffling as the boat owner told me that the black (and grey) water on board went over the side and was not stored. He claimed there was no macerator or biological action but that the treatment involved sodium hypochlorate.

Although we did have difficulty with translation (he is Arabic), he was adamant that his explanation was correct. He told me that this is an approved method for the charter boat operators. The discharge was crystal clear.

Anybody able to fill in the gaps in my understanding?

<hr width=100% size=1>GBW

SteveA

Visit site
As an ex Merch Engineer I have had the dubious honour of looking after ships sewage treatment plant. The very last part of this was to treat the overboard water with Sodium Hypochlorite. This simply kills off any remaining bugs. It's crazy to think that treating raw sewage with it would then make it crystal clear!

<hr width=100% size=1>

simonfraser

Visit site
just shows you what a load of ** all this sewage treatment for boaties is, surely the fish etc. produce fare more !

<hr width=100% size=1>

HeadMistress

Visit site
How big was the boat? Do you have any idea what the name of the device might be?