Pilotage help...

whiskeymac

Visit site
Hello everyone... I am a newbie here and in fact new to motor boating - but that is another story!...

I am taking delivery of a new (to me) boat in March - a Swift Trawler 34.
I have to bring it from Greystones Marina, Co Wicklow, to Brighton, E Sussex

I am happy to motor at night - slowly - I have full radar and chart plotter/AIS and I am familiar with using them :)

However, I anticipate doing roughly 100 nm per day - I am not in a hurry; I would like to motor in daylight if possible - for the sake of my crew - and my learning curve!

At full throttle I should be able to do about 20kts and have a range of 166nm (with a 20% reserve.)
I hope to do about 15kts and get better fuel consumption than that, taking the range to around 200nm (with a 20% reserve)

I was wondering if anyone could give me some tips on where there are convenient ports along the coast from N Wales to N Devon, and as far as Falmouth. After that I am pretty familiar with ports of call.

all the best

sarabande

Visit site
Welcome to the forum, Whiskymac.

Are you going along the S Wales coast, then along to the N Devon one round Lands End, or cutting across ?

N Devon coast for a Trawler 34 could be a but tricky unless you want to dry out or anchor off. What is your draft ?

Sounds as if you have commercial experience ?

Mr Googler

Visit site
Welcome to the forum.

Greystones to Milford Haven is 100nm

Milford Haven to Newlyn is 116nm

Padstow is another option before the corner although it’s tidal restricted access.

The tricky bit is getting round lands end but if you have the time you can just wait for a weather window. After that.....harbours and marinas are plentiful. My last boat did both of those legs with the new owner. Enjoy the trip!

Bouba

Visit site
Hello everyone... I am a newbie here and in fact new to motor boating - but that is another story!...

I am taking delivery of a new (to me) boat in March - a Swift Trawler 34.