moorings

nac

Visit site
I AM HAVING A LOT OF PROBLEMS WITH MY BOAT BREAKING HER MOORINGS.
I HAVE TRIED DIFFERENT COMBINATIONS ,LIKE COMBINATION WIRE AND ROPE . CHAINS WITH SHACKLES. ALSO SWIVELS. THE SETUP IS ,HEAVY CONCRETE BLOCK WITH HEAVY CHAIN =1"THICK LINKS THEN LIGHTER CHAIN TO BUOY AND THE RISERS TO BOWCLEAT. ALL TO NO AVAIL . THE MOORINGS IS IN A SANDY ESTUARY WITH A HEAVY CHOP IN HEAVY EASTERLYS
THE YACHT IS A 30 FOOTER APPROX. 4 TONS.

ALL REPLIES WELCOME.
NAC.

G

A bit more info please Nac

I am no expert on moorings, but know the feeling of being phoned up and being told that your yacht is halfway up a sea wall.

Is the chain going at the bottom shackle/swivel area or nearer the top end ? Also the scope you are using and max height on your mooring on a Spring tide would help.

Regards

pete

Visit site
Put my half tide mooring down about 6 years ago no probs yet,it is in quite a strong flood I have two half ton weights 150 ft apart in line with the flood connected with 3/4 inch chain (bar size not link) in center of this chain I have 6 foot of 3/4 inch chain riser then it reduces to 3/8 chain with a swivel just below the buoy from buoy I have two strops to the boat.
all shackles are moused, the swivel is 3/4 inch, and every winter I remove the lighter chain and replace with winter riser,as my boat is ashore, I inspect shackles,swivel and strops over winter and replace as required, ground chain is mostly buried in sand but when it has apeared it is like new, If in doubt over size!. If you can get someone else to link onto your back weight for their front mooring weight so much the better.
hope this helps
pete

boatone

www.tmba.org.uk