Mooring installation: hints, tips, pointers

yodave

Visit site
Hi,

I'm due to install my mooring over the next few days. It's a 32ft bilge keel boat with a weight of around 6 tonnes, on a fixed mooring, in a 60ft x 40ft box.

The berth is a drying one, with lots of silt maybe two or three feet on top of each of the four sinkers which are at each corner of the box.

My club and supplier have already done the math, so this thread isn't about the spec of the chain, shackles, etc.

As I've never done this before, I just wondered whether anyone has any snippets of advice that will make the actual installation easier ...or save me from making stupid mistakes that I subsequently have to go and unpick?

Thanks in advance!

yodave

Visit site
Hi Philip,

I've had a quick look ...thanks.

As the spec is all done and dusted, it's more installation tips / hints that I'm looking for. There may not be any particular knack to it ...but if there is I'm hoping forum members might be able to give me some pointers so that I can avoid learning the hard way.

Thanks again for your response.

ghostlymoron

Visit site
When I laid mine, I borrowed the club's flat bottomed boat about 16' long which was needed to carry the considerable weight of anchors, chains etc. We took the stuff out at high(ish) water and dropped it in the approx position of the new mooring. We were able to return at low water and dig the anchors in, connect the chains, swivels, links and buoys. The mooring was then ready to receive the boat when required. Mine was in firm sand, I note that yours is in silt which might make walking around much more difficult. You may be better to lay it all and connect it from a dinghy as walking around in 3' of silt will be almost impossible.
Good luck. It was hard physical work and we had to wait around for several hours for the tide to drop.

VicS

Visit site
As I've never done this before, I just wondered whether anyone has any snippets of advice
Get someone who has to do it!