Meet Callisto

graemefindlay

Visit site
Hi there,

I’ve recently acquired a wooden Folkboat called Callisto that is ashore at Shamrock Quay.

1d9f50b3-90fd-4528-80b0-d5d646892cdb.jpeg
17e2d6e5-80ca-4c71-b22b-80cad7c99121.jpeg

These pics are from 2018 when she was prepared for sale by a previous owner.

Callisto is my first yacht and I’m new to wooden boat ownership, but not to sailing.

I will be on here asking many stupid questions, the first of which is this:

Would it be an error to patch paint?

I’ve seen a variety of opinions on whether to strip back or paint over existing top coats.

There are a couple of areas where the paint has bubbled, can I strip these areas back and focus on building the coats back up there?

I want to sail her asap :)

Cheers

Graeme

Wansworth

Visit site
paint manufacturas produce phamflets covering all circumstances of their products use.from personal experience a good rub down with wet w
and dry and a top coat.there are fillers to patch up areas needing rebuilding.

Tranona

Visit site
Welcome to the forum

No problem with patching, although you may well find with a boat that has been out of the water for that length of time more areas will reveal themselves. However if the paint appears sound and there is no cracking at the seams then rubbing back until you get a sound surface and refinishing is quite normal. If that sound surface is bare wood then primer, undercoat and top coat.

The 2 main suppliers of paints are International and Hempel and you will find both in any chandlers. If you use a single pot such as International Toplac they are usually compatible with other brands of existing paint, although the whites may not always match.

Wise to get sailing as soon as you can to find out about the boat and what needs doing longer term, but I guess your surveyor has already identified important issues to deal with before going into the water.