Lowestoft to majorca

scuttlemetimbers

Visit site
Hi all, new to sailing and first time posting here.

So I've made a fairly impulsive buy of a jaguar 22, probably paid too much for it as it needs some work. Anyway, I'm looking to sail it to majorca or possibly mainland Spain depending on time then sell it.

What I'm looking for is someone that knows how to sail that wants to come along with a total novice. Expecting to travel summer 2024

Attachments

• 24490001.jpg
    24490001.jpg
    487.9 KB · Views: 10

dunedin

Visit site
Welcome to the forum, and congratulations on your new boat.

With its shallow draft it would be an ideal boat to take through the French canals to the Mediterranean.
Alternatively they are very easy to tow. My late father took his Alacrity / Jaguar 22 down to the Med and back by road three times - twice to France and once to Yugoslavia (now Croatia).

However, it is not an ideal boat to sail down the exposed Atlantic coastline unless a very experienced skipper, which you do not sound to be.
Also, due to Brexit it is not easy to sell a boat from the UK in the EU - any buyer in the EU would not only have to pay VAt on the price, but more importantly it may need certification to RCR, which may be near impossible.
Hence towing down for the summer and towing back to the UK after may be better?
If you don’t have an EU passport, also need to be aware of the limit of 90 days in the Schengen area (most of continental Europe).

scuttlemetimbers

Visit site
Welcome to the forum, and congratulations on your new boat.

With its shallow draft it would be an ideal boat to take through the French canals to the Mediterranean.
Alternatively they are very easy to tow. My late father took his Alacrity / Jaguar 22 down to the Med and back by road three times - twice to France and once to Yugoslavia (now Croatia).

However, it is not an ideal boat to sail down the exposed Atlantic coastline unless a very experienced skipper, which you do not sound to be.