Looking to downsize. Quicksilver 855?

Cathy*

Visit site
We've been looking at a Quicksilver 855 weekend which ticks all the boxes. Weekender for 2 adults; Good vis for berthing; nice seating area aft; seemed stable with 3 adults walking around. However, someone with experience of the particular model has said they didn't feel safe taking one from The Hamble to Port Solent, they aborted the trip for another day, and again from Port Solent to Chichester. That it wouldn't steer in a straight line in the bumpy Solent. Can anyone share their experience?

SC35

Visit site
I have no experience with the Quicksilver, but our Sealine S28 took us all over the place in varying conditions: Solent, Cross-Channel, Weymouth, Plymouth etc.

stelican

Visit site
We've been looking at a Quicksilver 855 weekend which ticks all the boxes. Weekender for 2 adults; Good vis for berthing; nice seating area aft; seemed stable with 3 adults walking around. However, someone with experience of the particular model has said they didn't feel safe taking one from The Hamble to Port Solent, they aborted the trip for another day, and again from Port Solent to Chichester. That it wouldn't steer in a straight line in the bumpy Solent. Can anyone share their experience?
Perhaps they were not shown how to deal with the conditions

Thalassa76

Visit site
There is one for sale in our yard, maybe the one your looking at. It seems very narrow in the beam which i would think would mean its a bit unstable. Also like all these lightweight outboard driven boats (Merry fisher etc) they slam like mad in any seaway ....

Canopy Locked

Visit site