How do I get an engine ready?

Colvic Watson

Visit site
I'm buying a new (old) boat with a 10 HP mid 1990's Yanmar diesel. I'm completely new to diesels and what concerns me is that the boat has been laid up for the last 18 months. I know about condensation in the tank and will drain the tank; but what about other factors like impellers, bacteria, cooling systems etc and what do I use to clean and flush the tank and pipelines? The engine had a proper service 12 months ago, but what do I need to do now to get it ready for action?

Thanks for your help.

<hr width=100% size=1>

Evadne

Visit site
Post-layup routine:

1) Check the oil. If clear, then I'd leave it alone. Otherwise give her an oil and filter change after (6) below has warmed up the oil.
2) I always scratch the date of the service on the oil filter, in case I forget to change it next time.
3) Check the anode, its behind the bolted-on plate on the port side of the engine block.
4) Remove the impeller plate and make sure the impeller is fairly new and that the brass boss hasn't parted from the rubber vanes.
5) Check all the filters in the fuel line and drain where necessary
6) If ashore, then if its possible, remove the pipe from the raw water intake, dip it into a bucket of fesh clean water and start her up. Make sure water is ejected from the exhaust after a few minutes.

What to do with the cooling depends on whether she's directly or indirectly cooled.

If you're worried about bugs, then draining and cleaning the tank is a good step, also replace all filter elements. To clear the pipes, I blow back through them into the tank.
Re. Biocides and enzymes, I've just started using Soltron and it seems to do the job a lot better than the previous ones.
Hope this helps.

<hr width=100% size=1>

BlueChip

Visit site
As the engine has been standing so long, there will be very little if any oil on bearing surfaces. When the engine starts and before the oil has a chance to circulate is when the damage occurs