Hagle over warenty start date - have you ever ?

Capt Popeye

Visit site
Hi I have been haggling for a few years now , with Outboard resale Engineres over the / any warrenty) that they offer us ; most seem to offer 3 months from purchase date , which is all well and good , but if Outboard bought in mid witnter , with my boat laid up for a few more months , then I discuss either an extended warranty , to allow for proper testing attatched to my boat when afloat (?) at the start of new season , or Dealer keep the Outboard untill my boat is launched then I collect it and my Warrany period starts ; I refuse to complete any Outboard purchase unless dealer agrees to a reasonable latitde over warrenty start date .

Might ask if anybdy else has negotiated similar deals ?

I recently just struck off a sizeable Boat /outboard dealer who refused to accomodate my reasonable wishes at all : claiming that Car Dealers sell Cars with warrenty starting day they took delivery of said car ; My point is that cars are usually driven away from Dealerships , wheras boats and mostly trailered transported away so are being used /tested straight away wheras Boat just might not be tested for 3 to 4 months after delivery /collection .

I fear that our Historical Boating sceen is even worse that I imagined or have experienced , oh well argue onwards I fear , just gota test Dealers / Brokers along my life way , booting away any have their own agendas ?

Tranona

Visit site
You have no right to a warranty in addition to your consumer rights. A warranty is in the £gift" of the dealer and the dealer can set the conditions. The fact that you are not intending to use the product until some date in the future is your decision.