good boat for liveaboard

bernieoldham

Visit site
i realise this is a hell of a question to ask , im a complete beginner at sailing only training is 5 days live aboard doing the competent crew course . but i know deep down this is what i want to do .my question is what is a good boat to buy, to sail single handed most of the time and live aboard . i have saved up like a madman ,for the last 7 years . i want something mid 1980s at least .i dont fancy buying a cheaper one to start, then upgrading. i want to dive in the deep end .i quite fancy a moody 30 mk1 or mk11 ,but its only for cosmetic reasons .
my budget is 40k tops any advice or help is really appreciated thanks in advance

<hr width=100% size=1>

Danthegorrila

in med on way to ........ home used to be in Cumbr
Visit site
Hi To give any advice at all people need more info. Are you going to live aboard full time? Will you have a house/ some where to keep things too? Are you going to be in the UK are you planning to travel?

Anyway as a rough first stab, 30' seems way too small for full time life aboard.
As a couple we have a big 40' and it just about right for 2 of us, but for 1 person you do not need much less space, your pans, computer, toys etc all take up the same space. Boat volume is really important on average live boards sail less than 1 day in 10. In the last year of live aboard we have done less miles that when we lived in the UK and sailed weekend, holidays etc. So remeber you are looking for a boat to LIVE in more than a boat to sail.

Good hunting. Check out YM this month and I think March there are stories of our departure.

pete

<hr width=100% size=1>PB

bernieoldham

Visit site