fitting outboard on transom

G

Hi,

I've just bought a 2.5 mariner outboard for my Wayfarer dinghy. It will be used only occasionally for getting in and out of tight spots, exploring creeks etc, (probably used even less as my sailing improves! I'm a beginner!!).

It appears that most people mount their outboards onto a bracket to keep the engine from fouling the main sheet traveller. Apart from the advantage of keeping the outboard permanently mounted, is there any reason why I can't mount the outboard directly to the transom? It's fairly light so I should be able to attach and detach the motor as and when I need it.

I have checked the position of the prop in the water when mounted in this way and all seems well. My only concern is that I may damage the transom, I will of course fit pads to prevent the gel coat from being scratched. I wouldn't have thought that there would be any more stress on the transom when mounted this way than when on a bracket. Above all these outboard brackets seem very expensive, it may be something I'll invest in the future but for now I need to stop spending money! This sailing lark is expensive!

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

cheers

Mat

<hr width=100% size=1>

snowleopard

Visit site
if it doesn't foul the rudder or the sheet you should be OK.

but... on a grp wayfarer you need to check that you're not clamping onto a hollow moulding which could flex and allow the motor to fall off. if it is hollow you can probably get in through the aft tank to glue a block of wood inside the transom moulding to prevent it compressing.

<hr width=100% size=1>

KeithH

Visit site