Dashboard instruments

jeremybailey

Hi everyone.

I'd love to get into motorboat restoration as a hobby. I am a complete beginner. Please could you let me know what typical instruments go in each of the cut outs in the picture
byGxO9.jpg

Thanks a lot!

Jeremy.

petem

Jeremy, welcome to the forum.

Left and right are speakers, rectangle left of steering wheel is CD players! Portrait shaped rectangle could have been some kind of depth gauge / fishfinder. Other circular cut out perhaps some kind of speedometer.

Best way forward would be to fabricate a new panel and mount whatever rev counter is compatible with your outboard. Match it with a speedometer (less important though).

Would be good to also have a way of displaying engine temperature, fuel level and low oil pressure warning.

Buy a cheap marine GPS unit for navigation and speed over ground and carry a portable VHF radio.

Pete

jeremybailey

Looks like the holes were cut with an axe! :D

Yes haha they do look like that! Not my boat, it's on I saw on ebay that I liked the look of. Sadly I don't have the money for it or a restoration at the moment however I am saving for it! :D

jeremybailey

Jeremy, welcome to the forum.

Left and right are speakers, rectangle left of steering wheel is CD players! Portrait shaped rectangle could have been some kind of depth gauge / fishfinder. Other circular cut out perhaps some kind of speedometer.

Best way forward would be to fabricate a new panel and mount whatever rev counter is compatible with your outboard. Match it with a speedometer (less important though).

Would be good to also have a way of displaying engine temperature, fuel level and low oil pressure warning.

Buy a cheap marine GPS unit for navigation and speed over ground and carry a portable VHF radio.

Pete