Dashboard instruments

jeremybailey

Visit site
Hi everyone.

I'd love to get into motorboat restoration as a hobby. I am a complete beginner. Please could you let me know what typical instruments go in each of the cut outs in the picture
byGxO9.jpg

Thanks a lot!

Jeremy.

petem

www.fairlineownersclub.com
Jeremy, welcome to the forum.

Left and right are speakers, rectangle left of steering wheel is CD players! Portrait shaped rectangle could have been some kind of depth gauge / fishfinder. Other circular cut out perhaps some kind of speedometer.

Best way forward would be to fabricate a new panel and mount whatever rev counter is compatible with your outboard. Match it with a speedometer (less important though).

Would be good to also have a way of displaying engine temperature, fuel level and low oil pressure warning.

Buy a cheap marine GPS unit for navigation and speed over ground and carry a portable VHF radio.

Pete

jeremybailey

Visit site
Jeremy, welcome to the forum.

Left and right are speakers, rectangle left of steering wheel is CD players! Portrait shaped rectangle could have been some kind of depth gauge / fishfinder. Other circular cut out perhaps some kind of speedometer.

Best way forward would be to fabricate a new panel and mount whatever rev counter is compatible with your outboard. Match it with a speedometer (less important though).

Would be good to also have a way of displaying engine temperature, fuel level and low oil pressure warning.

Buy a cheap marine GPS unit for navigation and speed over ground and carry a portable VHF radio.

Pete

Thank you very much Pete! As a beginner at only 18 I usually get, lets say, less than useful replies from people, however you are not one of them. I take in everything that everyone says and find it very useful.

I was thinking the same, a fuel meter, engine temp, oil pressure etc would be very useful as well as the other things you mentioned.

Again, thanks a lot! :)

Jeremy

petem