Contessa 26 and a Rutland 504

heya,

I'm pondering getting a Rutland 504 for my Contessa and was wondering if any one here has this same set up (Contessa and 504) or similar.

1. Where did you mount it?
  2. Would you change the mounting point if you could?
  3. What problems did you encounter?
  4. Do you regret the purchase?
  5. Does it live up to your charging needs?

FWIW it'll be my primary charger (am hoping to avoid marinas and the need to run the engine) and I'll be running down from the UK to Eastern Med.

I have considered solar but (and I am no expert) was put off by the issues obtaining sunlight (sail/raid/etc shadows and so on). I also considered, very briefly, a towed gen, but again was put off by the impact on speed (the boat's only good for about 5 knots as it is).

Thanks in advance for any responses :)

sarabande

Visit site
from the Marlec site

"Produces 25 Watts in 19 knots

* That's a very useful nominal 2A @ 12V charge into the battery
* Produces up to 60 Watts, nominally 5 Amps @ 12 Volts
"

Now that does not seem to me to be a hugely useful amount power especially from a device that requires quite a bit of physical management. I would not hesitate to go for a solar setup, where for a similar price (c. £280) you can get an 80W BP or Kyocera solar panel (which, because of clever circuitry design will not suffer greatly from the effects of partial shadow. Solar is especially useful for your proposed destination.

Mounting costs and controllers are the same cost for both systems.

dancrane

Visit site
I know flexible solar panels are vastly expensive, but if one might assume at least for some time on a cruise, to enjoy the sun's rays on the mainsail, might there be a way to unreef a 'venetian blind' of photo-voltaic opportunity, without waiting for the sails themselves to carry the amp-generating area.