Confusion over symmetrical spinnaker trim

bdh198

Visit site
I’m fairly new to racing so I apologise if my queries seem a bit basic, but I've recently been trying to get a better understanding of how a symmetrical spinnaker should be flown to get maximum performance from it.

Now I've read a few spinnaker trimming guides and watched a few clips on youtube, but I seem to be coming across contradictory information. I would therefore be extremely grateful for any wise words or clarification from any of the very experienced sailors and racers here.

1. On a reach, should the spinnaker pole be brought forward or aft in light or heavy air?

I understand that the spinnaker pole determines the angle of attack of the luff. Ideally you want the luff to be at right angles to the wind, and this is often achieved by ensuring the pole is at right angles to the wind. Now one source I've read states that in light airs the pole should actually be brought aft a little bit because the luff won’t be square on the pole (i.e. the pole is now position at less than 90 degrees to the wind). In heavy air the opposite should be done – the pole should be brought forward beyond 90 degrees to ensure the luff remains at 90 degrees.

However, another source states that on a reach in light airs the pole should be taken forward a few degrees to make the sail fuller. In heavier airs, the pole should be brought aft to help flatten the sail and de-power it.

2. On a reach in light airs should the outboard end of the pole (and thereby the tack) be lifted or lowered?

I understand that the height of the pole determines the position of the maximum draft of the sail (similar to a cunningham on the main). Several sources seem to suggest that in light airs the pole should be lowered as this increases luff tension and brings the draft forward creating a fuller shape and thereby more lift. In heavier airs the pole should be raised thereby moving the draft back.