Best Way to lock your boat...

onesea

Visit site
The thread on Padlocks reminded me on this one....

My last boat I made a simple lock out of a Window dead lock this worked well. Although meant any window dead lock key could unlock it. You had to know that and come pre prepared :p. The only problem against doing this again is the lump it created on the hatch board.

My latest boat had has a hasp and dead eye, I do not like this arrangement. Even though dead eye is small and to the side I will cut/ brain myself on it one day.

Also the hasp on the Hatch on the board seems only to scratch things below...

Ideally:
1) I would like a key less system, I am not very good at remembering keys :eek:
2) Enough to put off casual intruders,
3) One that if some does brake in they will not do too much damage. Yet will satisfy the insurance company...

Ideas links appreciated...

Last edited:

William_H

Visit site
Security

I found to my expense long ago that a really stout wash board is the first step. They kicked in the ply wash boards it is now thick Aluminium. I use a simple hasp and staple with keyed padlock. I got 4 identical keyed padlocks. One for hatch one for back locker one for dinghy one for oars int he dinghy. i't been safe for a few years now. olewill

vyv_cox

coxeng.co.uk
For many years I have used a lock that sounds similar to your window deadlock. I think it is intended for patio doors. Not sure why any key will fit it but our method avoids that. I made up a protective cover in about 4 mm stainless steel, bent over the lock and bolted to the washboard. There is a relatively small hole into which the key passes, but the hole is too small for a full sized key. I ground down the original ones to allow them to pass through the hole.