best place to buy a used outboard?

16ft phil

Visit site
ok so im looking for an outboard - 70/80 hp

as this is my first boat and im not all that clued up on marine the first place try is ebay, a few on there nohing ideal.
ive also been on boatsandoutboards website theres a few on there too
im also off to the kent boat jumble this weekend (hoping to find the perfect engine there:rolleyes:)

i was just wondering where else there is, any places to recomend? im in kent but dont mind traveling,

as some of you know im also a mechanic so i wouldnt mind an engine that needs a tad of work. also idealy after power trim and tilt.

any help much apreciated
regards phil.:)

boatmaster

Visit site

as this is my first boat and im not all that clued up on marine the first place try is ebay, a few on there nohing ideal.
im also off to the kent boat jumble this weekend (hoping to find the perfect engine there:rolleyes:)

i was just wondering where else there is, any places to recomend? im in kent but dont mind traveling,

as some of you know im also a mechanic so i wouldnt mind an engine that needs a tad of work. also idealy after power trim and tilt.

any help much apreciated

Try Portguide marine at Wateringbury (maidstone area)
http://www.portguide.co.uk

Very helpful guy, Steve Marriott, knows his stuff and good back up service.

gjgm

Visit site

any help much apreciated
No expert, but a dealer told me alot of their work is ebay outboards...Might be one of those cases a bit of warranty is worth a bit of premium.
Actually, the dealer price was lower than ebay, now I think about it, so try some bargaining.

PetiteFleur

Visit site
A dealer will usually give some sort of warranty so it may be best to go that route. Not sure where you are but I've used Seamark Nunn near Felixstowe twice in the past for (small) outboards and they have always worked fine.

Lakesailor

Visit site