Are lazy jack sail covers not waterproof

Leisure 27

Visit site
I have been sailing for over 30 years and never had this problem. I bought a new sail cover recently. I live in Plymouth, it rains a lot. This winter it rained a really lot. I went for a sail on March 18 first time since October and the sail was absolutely wet through. Gallons of water. Never happened before. Have I got a rubbish sail cover? Amazingly the sail is not green but it is full of black dots. The winter was so bad last year there was little time to raise the sails and air them.

westhinder

Visit site
Probably more to do with the material that is used than with the lazyjacks.
It is never a bad idea to take the sails off for dry winter storage, even more so if you have a roller furling genoa

Chiara’s slave

Visit site
I hide under the sprayhood when hoisting our main. Visiting crew are directed to the trampolines, and my wife on the helm is always alert to the problem. 50 litres of cold rainwater down your neck at the start of a trip isn’t great.

Robin

Visit site
my preference was for lazyjacks that were lowered and pulled out of the way before a proper 'old fashioned sail cover was put over the lowered sail, now tied with a few flat sail ties. sail cover rolled along the boom before hoisting and unrolled back to put in place over lowered sail using a stackpak I found led to dirty black stripes from rain water getting though the zip because the velcro zip cover never really did its job

Stemar

Visit site
We had a new experience this month - hoisted sail and a lump of ice fell out !

We coat the sail cover in Fabsil each year, but still gets water in