antifouling leading edges

Phoenix of Hamble

mishapsandmemories.blogspot.com
I keep reading posts with people referring to adding an extra coat or two to leading edges of rudders and keels....

Now, its a long while since I studied any hydrodynamics, but I seem to remember that the water flow over the leading edge is nice and smooth, yet turbulent over the trailing edges....

I have assumed over the years that the turbulence is more likely to remove eroding antifoul than smooth water flow, hence its more important to have good thickness on the trailing edges than leading ones..... and hence two coats on the trailing edge is more important than on the leading edge....

This is reinforced in my mind by seeing boats with growth hanging off the back of the keel, but not off the front when lifted...

Discuss?

savageseadog

Visit site
You're right with regard to the hydrodynamics. However when painting the edges of underwater foils I think there is a tendancy for the edges to "show through" the paint.

graham

Visit site
Like you I allways notice more weed off the trailing edeges of the rudder.

I usually slap an extra coat around the waterline where it gets an extra scrubbing afloat a few times each season.

Bilgediver

Visit site
I think you maybe ignoring water velocity at the leading edges. Self eroding antifoulf is probably affected as much by water traveling past it and at the leading edges of the aerofoil the water may not be turbulent but is moving faster so possibly erodes more antifoul than other areas of the keel and rudder.

Like many here I apply extra antifoul around the water line , the bow,keels and rudder. Unfortunately as the recipe seems to change each year it is dfficult to run comparisons year to year. We also notice that the fouling in our marina varies from year to year. One year may be mussels and fronds of weed. Next year barnacles,next year green grass weed.