A summer cruise in 1964, in a 16ft Wayfarer, from Scotland to Norway!

Boreades

Visit site
If folk have seen this before, apologies, it's my first time.

The classic film of Frank Dye's sail from Scotland to Norway in 1964, via the Faroes in his Wayfarer 16-foot open dinghy, a boat that is now in the British Maritime Museum.

I did wonder about their lifeline technique, it looked like a rope tied round their necks(?)

IanR

seascape2016.blogspot.com
Takes me back to the days of cruising in a wayfarer, my dad and two of us kids under a boom tent in Cornwall, top n tailed alongside the centreboard case,incredible to think how the clothing and safety technology has changed since then. I take my hat off to them.

Boreades

Visit site
Wow! I haven't seen that film yet. How did you find that film?

I stumbled on it, I've been trying to remember! :confused:

But here's another one I've just found - this might have been a bit warmer and more comfortable, but none the less epic!

4000 miles in a wayfarer dinghy is the cruising documentary account of Steve Clarke-Lens 1991 epic deep sea sailing voyage from the Ionian Islands in Greece to Egypt up the river Nile and back again.

westernman

www.devalk.nl
If folk have seen this before, apologies, it's my first time.

The classic film of Frank Dye's sail from Scotland to Norway in 1964, via the Faroes in his Wayfarer 16-foot open dinghy, a boat that is now in the British Maritime Museum.

I did wonder about their lifeline technique, it looked like a rope tied round their necks(?)

Totally crazy.

dancrane

Visit site
Extraordinary. I suppose the home-movie quality of the film-stock gives an impression of this voyage being much earlier than it is, but regardless, these gents' planning, and their practicality, hardiness and determination seem akin to Shackleton's.