A Rant- Time To Go?

LifeAtSea

Visit site
I live in Japan. I'm a teacher in a high school. I have just discovered that there is a change brewing in my schedule - albeit I have not been told directly and instead heard it off the ricevine.
Facts about Japanese teachers.
They work and then they die. They even work in the summer vacation. I have never stooped to this. Teachers are not meant to work in the summer vacation. It is unnatural.
Next year our school will add on a junior high. I have offered to increase my class schedule so that I can 'catch' the youngsters whilst their ears are still keen to learn a bit of English.[The Japanese education system pulverizes the study of English and very few kids end up being able to speak English - even after 6 solid years of study]
Blah. Well, I've heard that the guy in charge of the new school is expecting me to RUN A SUMMER SCHOOL. No bloody way.
The winds of change are blowing.
I refuse to become one of them.
Life is too short and wonderful to give it up for a bunch of summer school classes.

Is this a sign that I have to move on and get on a boat next April?

Sorry for the rant. I feel comfort within this site and therefore dumped my thoughts here.

<hr width=100% size=1>I'm Here For The Fish

MainlySteam

Visit site
Sounds like you don't like work and can afford not to work - most of the rest of us have to work through the summer and cannot afford not to. So it would seem that it is a sure sign that you should be sailing and not working.

John

<hr width=100% size=1>

LifeAtSea

Visit site
I love my job. I've been doing it for 12 years. I just don't want to turn into somebody who does unnecessary work. Unnecessary work is a big thing in Japan. I am not rich. I am unhindered by responsibilities for others. That makes me rich in that it makes me free. The free have more chances to do the things that they want in life, and lots of money to do such things isn't always a prerequisite. Freedom is.